Go Back   American Expedition Vehicles - Product Forums > All AEV Products > Ram, Prospector, Recruit Parts & Product Discussion

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Unread 02-14-2017, 01:21 PM
AEVRAM3500's Avatar
AEVRAM3500 AEVRAM3500 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kelkheim Germany/Pittsfield, ME USA
Posts: 76
Default

I have the AUX switches in my truck. They are great for work lights, rock lights or back up lights, but I want something I can reach easier for the LED lights and the Air Lockers. So this panel would be perfect for that and using the AUX switches for my backup and rock lights.
__________________
2015 RAM 3500 CC Laramie, Cummins, G56, 3.73, ARB (front), 37" BFG KO2, AEV bumper, Dual Sport Suspension, Air Intake w/ pre filter, Salta HD wheels...
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Unread 02-14-2017, 10:06 PM
scoutermike's Avatar
scoutermike scoutermike is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Tecumseh, Ontario
Posts: 81
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MacCTD View Post
Why not use the OEM? It can be retrofitted if not installed from the factory.
How? Is there a kit I don't know about?
__________________
2016 PowerWagon Flame Red - Loaded, Amsteel blue winch line and extension, Factor 55 Prolink, Duratrac 315/70R17LT

2015 Hellcat Charger B5 Blue - loaded
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Unread 02-15-2017, 10:53 PM
WDL1982 WDL1982 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 31
Default

SPOD 4x4 SE with Touch Screen, is all I'm saying.

But the switch panel from AEV does look nice. I also like the factory AUX switch idea. But since I already have the SPOD...
__________________
Loading:
2015 3500 CC-SB 4x4 Cummins/AISIN - Complete
Prospector XL package - Complete
Custom expedition cargo box - Complete
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Unread 02-16-2017, 03:48 AM
MacCTD MacCTD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: MA
Posts: 66
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scoutermike View Post
How? Is there a kit I don't know about?
There is not a kit, there are some posts on www.cumminsforum.com where people have added them.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Unread 02-16-2017, 03:56 AM
AOR AOR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 39
Default Oem

Quote:
Originally Posted by scoutermike View Post
How? Is there a kit I don't know about?
Depending on the level of options your truck has if going with the OEM setup you may loose some hard buttons on the dash. These buttons would be replaced with the factory switch panel. These buttons are in a row under the radio that control things like the heated/cooled seats , heated steering wheel etc.
They can be controlled through the 8.4 radio. I did not want to lose those hard buttons. I installed an SPOD HD SE. It works well. I do however really like the look of the AEV prototype switch panel in the SEMA truck
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Unread 02-16-2017, 12:43 PM
rhljk rhljk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 55
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AOR View Post
Depending on the level of options your truck has if going with the OEM setup you may loose some hard buttons on the dash. These buttons would be replaced with the factory switch panel. These buttons are in a row under the radio that control things like the heated/cooled seats , heated steering wheel etc.
They can be controlled through the 8.4 radio. I did not want to lose those hard buttons. I installed an SPOD HD SE. It works well. I do however really like the look of the AEV prototype switch panel in the SEMA truck
I have a classic SPOD in my Jeep and the OEM aux switch setup in the Prospector.

The Prospector OEM aux switches take over the heated seats and steering wheel switches. It is sort of annoying to access those functions through the flat panel as it always involves at least a couple display swaps to get to the right menu.

The OEM aux switches work as advertised and are more programmable than the SPOD switches I have in the Jeep. (Ignition on, always on, etc. can be programmed through the dash.)

The OEM switches are a bit clumsy, they are located low on the console and there isn't much tactile feedback when using them. This is OK for the aux lights, but I might want to move the locker on/off to a "real" switch located more conveniently at some point.

Overall I would view the OEM vs SPOD as different, but quality solutions to the same problem. One is really just making personal tradeoffs in choosing one or the other. I suspect before I'm done I'll end up with both in the RAM.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Unread 02-16-2017, 01:27 PM
Diesel Power Products Diesel Power Products is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: 5204 E Broadway Ave, Spokane Valley, WA 99212
Posts: 112
Default

This being the 21st Century, here is a product that I have been running for quite some time and rocks. It is all solid state so no fuses to worry about and it will auto reset if it has an excessive amp draws out of a circuit. It will also give you a warning if there is an issue with that circuit. Above and beyond it having the switch panel they also have an App that lets you control it with your smart phone. We have build an AEV style switch mount for the top of the centerstack in the past using the SPod but there is a really cool spot on the headliner just to the back of the front dome lights that this little switch pro can mount super easy.

http://www.dieselpowerproducts.com/p...er-system.aspx
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	TI8A8605-800px.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	29.8 KB
ID:	21541  
__________________
Visit us today!http://www.dieselpowerproducts.com
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Unread 02-16-2017, 01:28 PM
Diesel Power Products Diesel Power Products is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: 5204 E Broadway Ave, Spokane Valley, WA 99212
Posts: 112
Default

Oh and the factory switch's are cool but they don't have labels and they aren't the easiest thing to hit when your driving down the road. Just my two cents.
__________________
Visit us today!http://www.dieselpowerproducts.com
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Unread 02-16-2017, 01:30 PM
TTEngineer TTEngineer is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 299
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diesel Power Products View Post
This being the 21st Century, here is a product that I have been running for quite some time and rocks. It is all solid state so no fuses to worry about and it will auto reset if it has an excessive amp draws out of a circuit. It will also give you a warning if there is an issue with that circuit. Above and beyond it having the switch panel they also have an App that lets you control it with your smart phone. We have build an AEV style switch mount for the top of the centerstack in the past using the SPod but there is a really cool spot on the headliner just to the back of the front dome lights that this little switch pro can mount super easy.



http://www.dieselpowerproducts.com/p...er-system.aspx


Got any photos of it mounted?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
2014 Ram 3500 Limited SRW 6'4" bed currently stock
2009 Dodge 1500 Sport on 35's - Totaled
1999 2Dr Tahoe on 38's - Sold
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Unread 02-16-2017, 01:46 PM
Diesel Power Products Diesel Power Products is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: 5204 E Broadway Ave, Spokane Valley, WA 99212
Posts: 112
Default

I will in about a week, designed the aluminum bezel to go around it and am starting on it this weekend. I will definitely have pics though.
__________________
Visit us today!http://www.dieselpowerproducts.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.