intro and questions

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• intro and questions

been lurking since the summer but thought i would say hi and drop a few gratuitous pics of my 2017 mega cab offroad/sport, that I've been working on for a few months, and also ask some questions....

AEV dualsport, bumper and dif covers, 4.10 gears, diamondback cover, front/rear ARB lockers, ham radio (ICOM 7000).

put 3000 mi on it (including a 2500 mi trip) since the upgrades and am super happy with everything. no roar from the tires and I got 16.1 mpg averaging 74 mph across 600 miles of I-40, so I can't complain too much about that.

so I guess my first question is how to resize pics on this forum? I was hoping they would auto scale and the [resize] tag doesn't work.

on to my real questions... I have a full size spare tire with same katla wheel that is currently taking up most of my bed space. hoping to get some suggestions from you guys on where to get a roof rack that is sturdy, quiet and won't cause leaks.

i was hoping to do a rear bumper with tire carrier, such as aluminess or AEV (if it ever comes out) but it seems highly likely that any bumper carrier, no matter how well designed, is going to obstruct my rearview, break my park assist sensors and require relocating the rear camera at a minimum. and interfere with my ability to rear load an ATV on the diamondback.

so... anyone have a roof rack tire carrier suggestion that doesn't attach to the bed?

Comment

AEV has been talking about a rear bumper, what details they will have is anyones guess.

Aluminess has one available and ready to buy. As far as the items you mentioned, these are all valid concerns. Not sure what else you can do here except maybe a custom rack just behind the cab to carry the tire.

Like this, but higher up and parallel with the ground - https://www.carid.com/ic/addictive-d...600103-3_6.jpg

See - http://image.fourwheeler.com/f/61481...y-tire-carries (just not so much roof rack)